Skip to Main Content

Library Portal

Welcome to our Library Guides Page 

Resources found in the following Guides and Patient Pathfinders have been chosen and evaluated by the librarians of BC Cancer, with input from BC Cancer staff. Suggestions for additional resources for inclusion are welcome, however, Library staff reserves the final right on deciding which websites and resources will be included. See our Inclusion and Exclusion criteria.

Resources  are reviewed on a regular basis, however, the Library cannot guarantee the function, accuracy, or currency of the websites and the information contained within them. 

Topic Guides

BC Cancer Library Pathfinders for Patients

Pathfinders are curated lists of some of our books, pamphlets, support services, trusted websites, and other resources on a specific type of cancer or support topic for patients.

Inclusion & Removal Criteria

INCLUSION CRITERIA REMOVAL CRITERIA
  • provides information that supports the mission of BC Cancer and is relevant to our clients
  • provides accurate and reliable information
  • clearly identifies the sources of information on its site
  • identifies its mandate, scope, and objectives
  • identifies its sources of funding and sponsorship
  • exists primarily for informational or educational purposes and not to promote a product or fee-based service
  • identifies the author or responsible organization and provides information about their credentials
  • provides a way to contact the author, organization, or webmaster
  • provides information that is reasonably current and is reviewed and updated regularly
  • is well organized and easy to use
  • provides unique information that is not easily found elsewhere
  • is out of date and is no longer maintained
  • contains numerous defunct links
  • is found to contain inaccurate or misleading information
  • is replaced by another site that provides superior coverage on the same topic

 

Professional Practice Guides

Tutorial & How-To Guides


 The BC Cancer library system consists of a central library at Vancouver Centre (VC), and branches in Abbotsford (AC), Kelowna (SAHCSI), Prince George (CN), Surrey (FVC), and Victoria (VIC). All centres have patient resource collections in our Cancer Information Centres (CIC), and all centres have a professional collection on site. Professional resources for CN are housed in the adjacent UHNBC Library.
Subjects: Administration