Health Images - For Use
The sites below offer at least some content for re-use. Note license requirements where applicable, such as citing the source.
-
The Cancer Imaging Archive
De-identifies and hosts a large publicly available archive of medical images of cancer.
The imaging data are organized as “collections” defined by a common disease (e.g. lung cancer), image modality or type (MRI, CT, digital histopathology, etc) or research focus. DICOM is the primary file format used by TCIA for radiology imaging.
-
Digital Histology
Digital Histology provides an open educational resource that combines a digital atlas with extensive descriptive text.
Creative Commons License, no commercial use without prior consent.
-
HEAL Collection
Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials, on very specific topics.
Housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library.
-
MedPix
Free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics.
The content material is organized by disease location (organ system); pathology category; patient profiles; and, by image classification and image captions. The collection is searchable by patient symptoms and signs, diagnosis, organ system, image modality and image description, keywords, contributing authors, and many other search options.
-
National Cancer Institute Visuals Online
Each image or illustration included in the NCI Visuals Online Web site is labeled either "Public Domain" (free to use) or "Copyright Protected" (restricted, obtain permission before use).
Reproduced images should acknowledge NCI as the originator, the NCI Web site, www.cancer.gov, as the source and/or the image creator. Many images in this collection are in the public domain and are not subject to copyright restrictions.
-
NLM Digital Collections
Includes the History of Medicine images collection, including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century. Also text and other archival collections related to medical history.
-
Open-i
Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine. Reuse of Open-i images is determined by the license type of the image. A link to the applicable license type, if available, may be found below the individual Open-i image on the detailed view page.
May I reuse an image I found through Open-i?
We cannot grant permissions to use images. Copyright remains with the authors or the journal. A link to the copyright license type may be found below the individual Open-i image on the detailed view page. If copyright restrictions for an image are not specified or are unclear, please contact the journal that published the image.
-
Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
CDC. Public health relevant image collection. Images are either "Public Domain" (free use) or "Copyright Protected" (restricted, obtain permission before use).
This library includes subject matter that might be unsuitable for children. The imagery showcased in the PHIL is historic in nature; the contents depicted, though appropriate at the time a photograph was captured, may no longer be appropriate in the context of the current time period, and is not to be viewed as a source of the most current public health information.
-
Wellcome Images Collection
Wellcome Collection is a free museum and library that aims to challenge how we all think and feel about health. Search for free, downloadable images taken from our library and museum collections, including paintings, illustrations, photos and more.
Clearly labelled by licensing and permitted use.
General Open Access Images
Websites below aren't medical, but may include relevant images. Copyright and re-use information can be clearly searched and identified.
-
Google Advanced Image Search
At the bottom of the form, see "usage rights" for Creative Commons option.
Google filter for CC licenses is quite limiting.
-
Openverse
All Openverse content is under a Creative Commons license or is in the public domain.
Formerly Creative Commons search.
-
Wikimedia Commons
Broad public archive of variable quality.
To fulfill the free license requirements, please read our Reuse guide. You can also request a picture.
PHSA Internal
These resources are mostly internal only, you must be on the PHSA network to access them.
-
BC Cancer brand guidelines (PDF)
Colour palette, typography, etc.
-
Logos for PHSA programs
Includes BC Cancer provincial & regional logos, and links to other BC health authority & government logos.
-
Photography & Media Services
BC Cancer: Contact Communications by email for professional photography and design needs.
-
Templates & Forms
BC Cancer (PHSA) templates, such as for powerpoint presentations or conference posters.
Search to find downloadable template files as pptx format. These are starting places for design, to help with colour, logo, etc.
Health Images - Not Free
You may view the images at the sites below, but re-use is not unrestricted. Some images may be available with citation; others may require permission and/or paid licensing.
-
Medical Encyclopedia (MedlinePlus)
Many illustrations are from AdamImages.com which is not open access or free for re-use.
Adamimages.com is one of the world's largest libraries of medical illustrations with nearly 30,000 detailed and medically accurate images
-
PubMed Central (PMC)
Search will retrieve a list of journal citations and a separate list of images, e.g. on the right with a link to open just the image results. Open access journals are not copyright-free or public domain, and should not be re-used without consent.
-
Skinsight
Search a huge database of images for skin conditions.
Permission to reprint or electronically reproduce any document or graphic in whole or in part for any other purpose is expressly prohibited unless prior written consent is obtained from VDX.
The BC Cancer library system consists of a central library at Vancouver Centre, and branches in Abbotsford, Kelowna, Prince George, and Victoria where both patient and professional collections are available on site. Librarian staff are available at all centres, including Surrey.
The BC Cancer library system consists of a central library at Vancouver Centre, and branches in Abbotsford, Kelowna, Prince George, and Victoria where both patient and professional collections are available on site. Librarian staff are available at all centres, including Surrey.