Skip to Main Content
BC Cancer Library COVID-19 Update
Alert: All BC Cancer Library sites and Cancer Information Centres are closed to the public until further notice. We continue to support patients and staff, providing reference, research, document delivery and more from a virtual platform. The library is still monitoring our email and phones during our regular Monday-Friday hours of operation and can still help you.

Staff Guide

Welcome to the BC Cancer Library Staff Guide!

The BC Cancer Library offers information services including document delivery, literature searches, individual and group training, and access to evidence based resources and tools to all BC Cancer staff. Start by contacting a librarian, exploring our databases, or searching our Library Catalogue today!
This is the new BC Cancer Library guide. We would love to hear what you think. Please email us your feedback! 

Search eJournal Titles

Use Full Text Finder to access BC Cancer Library eJournal titles and eBooks.
To limit results to ejournals only, enter your search words below and click search. Then, use the radio buttons on the top of the search to limit your results to ejournals!
EBSCO's Full Text Finder

Search Databases

Looking for articles, guidelines, and other evidence based resources? Search Medline, CINAHL, Embase and more below. Visit our Databases page for a full list of electronic resources. 

Search the Catalogue

Search our catalogue for books, videos, ebooks, and audio materials.

Information on borrowing can be found on our General Borrowing Policies.

Locations & Contacts

BC Cancer - Vancouver Library / CIC 

The BC Cancer-Vancouver Library respectfully acknowledges the xʷməθkwəy̓əm (Musqueam), Skwxwú7mesh (Squamish), and Səl̓ílwətaɬ (Tsleil-Waututh) Nations on whose traditional territories the library is privileged to operate.

General Library Email library@bccancer.bc.ca  

Phone 604-675-8002

Hours 8:30 am - 4:30 pm (Monday - Friday) - Currently operating virtually

Librarians

Other Library Staff

Location BC Cancer Research Centre - 675 West 10th Ave., Vancouver BC V5Z 1L3

After Hours BC Cancer Staff Access The library site is still currently closed to all staff. Please check back later for information once we have reopened.

Staff Handout: For more information regarding contacts and services at this location, please see our Vancouver Library - Resources & Services Handout.

BC Cancer - Prince George Library / CIC

The BC Cancer-Prince George Library respectfully acknowledges the Lheidli T'enneh Nation on whose traditional territories the library is privileged to operate.

Staff in the Centre for the North have access to library staff services via the BC Cancer - Vancouver Library.

General Library Email library@bccancer.bc.ca

Phone 604-675-8002

Hours 8:30 am - 4:30 pm (Monday - Friday)

Librarians

Location Centre for the North: 1215 Lethbridge st., Prince George, BC, Canada V2N 7E9

  • There is a small collection of BC Cancer library books located adjacent in UHNBC, in the Northern Health Library. BC Cancer library resources are interfiled amongst CN Library collection materials. 

After Hours BC Cancer Staff Access 24/7 swipe card access using your BC Cancer staff card. 

Staff Handout: For more information regarding contacts and services at this location, please see our Prince George Library - Resources & Services Handout.

BC Cancer - Surrey Library / (CIC)

The BC Cancer-Surrey Library respectfully acknowledges the q̓ic̓əy̓ (Katzie), Qʼʷa:n̓ƛʼən̓ (Kwantlen), and sc̓əwaθən məsteyəxʷ (Tsawwassen) Nations on whose traditional territories the library is privileged to operate.

General Library Email library_fvc@bccancer.bc.ca 

Phone 604-930-2098 x 654576

Librarian Office Hours In-person: Wednesday 8:30 am - 4:30 pm / Virtual services: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday 8:30 am - 4:30 pm

Librarian  Elena Popova:   elena.popova@bccancer.bc.ca

Location Surrey Memorial Hospital: 13775 96 Ave., Surrey, BC V3T 4H9

  • Staff collection is located on the 3rd floor (medical staff area) and accessible any time, 24/7
  • Patient collection is located on the 1st floor. Due to current Covid restrictions, the shelves are currently locked.  

Staff Handout: For more information regarding contacts and services at this location, please see our Surrey Library - Resources & Services Handout.

BC Cancer - Victoria Library

The BC Cancer-Victoria Library respectfully acknowledges the Lək̓ʷəŋən Peoples (Esquimalt and Songhees Nations) whose traditional territories the library is privileged to operate.

General Library Email library_vic@bccancer.bc.ca  

Phone (250) 519-5517 x 695517 

Staff Hours 8:00 am - 4:00 pm (Monday - Friday)

Librarian  Lorraine Leitz: lleitz@bccancer.bc.ca

Location BC Cancer - Victoria: 2410 Lee Ave., Victoria BC, V8R 6V5 (next to the Royal Jubilee Hospital)

After Hours BC Cancer Staff Access No restrictions. 24/7 access to library collections. 

Staff Handout: For more information regarding contacts and services at this location, please see our Victoria Library - Resources & Services Handout.

BC Cancer - Abbotsford Library / CIC

The BC Cancer-Abbotsford Library respectfully acknowledges the Sumas and Mastqui Nations on whose traditional territories the library is privileged to operate.

General Library Email  library_ac@bccancer.bc.ca 

Phone 604-851-4710 x 646827    

Librarian Office Hours In-person: Monday 8:00 am - 2:00 pm / Virtual services: Tuesday 8:00 am - 2:00 pm, Wednesday 8:00 am - 4:00 pm

Librarian  Pamela Bontuyan:  pamela.bontuyan@bccancer.bc.ca

Location Abbotsford Regional Hospital & Cancer Centre: 32900 Marshall Rd., Abbotsford, BC V2S 0C2

After Hours BC Cancer Staff Access 24/7 employee ID swipe access. Contact security if you experience any difficulties.

Staff Handout: For more information regarding contacts and services at this location, please see our Abbotsford Library - Resources & Services Handout.

BC Cancer - Kelowna Library / CIC

The BC Cancer-Kelowna Library respectfully acknowledges the Syilx (Okanagan) Nation on whose traditional territories the library is privileged to operate.

General Library Email  library_csi@bccancer.bc.ca

Phone (250) 712-3966 x 686821

Staff Hours 8:00 am - 4:00 pm (Monday - Wednesday)

Librarian  Krista Clement: kclement@bccancer.bc.ca

Location BC Cancer - Kelowna (Sindi Ahluwalia Hawkins Centre): 399 Royal Ave., Kelowna, BC V1Y 5L3

After Hours BC Cancer Staff Access Please use the adjacent meeting rooms door code for access.  

Staff Handout: For more information regarding contacts and services at this location, please see our Kelowna Library - Resources & Services Handout.

News

2020-2021 Annual Report

2020-2021 Year in Review

Read our 2020-2021 Library Year in Review to learn about how the BC Cancer Library embraces the transition to virtual services and how our team continues to support staff, patients, and the public during the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Previous library publications are available on the About Us tab.

Learning Hub Logo

The Library is on the Learning Hub!

Did you know that the Library has Learning Hub modules for BC Cancer staff? These modules include video tutorials and short activities to help you find, access, and use e-resources.

Search for BC Cancer library on the Learning Hub for our list of online modules!

COVID-19 Updates

Healthcare does not stop and neither does the library! 

We continue to support patients and staff, providing reference, research, document delivery and more from a virtual platform. The library is still monitoring our email and phones during our regular Monday-Friday hours of operation. 

Curbside pick-up

COVID-19 Updates

We are now offering mail delivery of books to staff at all sites, as well as curbside pick-up for staff at the Vancouver site. Items loaned are not to enter the clinical environments. Interlibrary loans to and from BC Cancer are still temporarily suspended. 

Cover: Core Curriculum for Oncology Nursing

Unlimited Access: Core Curriculum for Oncology Nursing 6th ed. 2020

We now have unlimited user access to Core Curriculum for Oncology Nursing 6th ed. 2020! Access the ebook from the Library catalogue, or R2 ebooks, if at a BC Cancer networked computer. 
Remember to login with your R2 Digital Library userID and password.
If you do not have an account, set one up on a BC Cancer-networked computer, or contact requests@bccancer.bc.ca if working from home.

Questions and Speech Bubbles

Information Referral Form

The Information Referral Form is a tool to help health professionals connect patients to relevant and credible information.
Review the form with your patients during their appointment and submit the form online.
WHERE CAN I GET IT?
Find the online version on the BC Cancer Library page or ask your Librarian!



 The BC Cancer library system consists of one central library at Vancouver Centre (VC), and branches in Abbotsford (AC), Kelowna (SAHCSI), Prince George (CN), Surrey (FVC), and Victoria (VIC). All centres have a collection of patient resources in a Cancer Information Centre (CIC), and most centres have a professional collection on site. Professional resources purchased for the CN are housed in the adjacent UHNBC Library.