Skip to Main Content

Staff Guide

Welcome to the BC Cancer Library Staff Guide

The BC Cancer Library offers information services including document delivery, literature searches, individual and group training, and access to evidence based resources and tools to all BC Cancer staff. Start by contacting a librarian, exploring our databases, or searching our Library Catalogue today. Check out our latest infographic to see what we do!
Covid-19 Update: Libraries are offering hybrid in-person and remote services to staff and patients. Please see our Locations & Contacts below or in the About Us page for local site information.

Search eJournal Titles

Use Full Text Finder to access BC Cancer Library eJournal titles and eBooks.
To limit results to ejournals only, enter your search words below and click search. Then, use the radio buttons on the top of the search to limit your results to ejournals!
EBSCO's Full Text Finder

Search Databases

Looking for articles, guidelines, and other evidence based resources? Search Medline, CINAHL, Embase and more below. Visit our Databases page for a full list of electronic resources. 

Search the Catalogue

Search our catalogue for books, videos, ebooks, and audio materials.

Information on borrowing can be found on our General Borrowing Policies.

Locations & Contacts

BC Cancer - Vancouver Library  (Main Library)

The BC Cancer-Vancouver Library respectfully acknowledges the xʷməθkwəy̓əm (Musqueam), Skwxwú7mesh (Squamish), and Səl̓ílwətaɬ (Tsleil-Waututh) Nations on whose traditional territories the library is privileged to operate.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION: Please note that the Cancer Information Centre (CIC) located in the main lobby at 600 W. 10th is closed until further notice.

Location: BC Cancer Research Centre - 675 West 10th Ave., Vancouver BC V5Z 1L3

General Library Email: requests@bccancer.bc.ca 

Phone:  604-675-8002

Hours: Currently no after hours access until further notice

  • 8:30 am - 4:30 pm - Monday - Thursday on site access for CRC staff only
  • 8:30 am - 4:30 pm - Monday - Friday virtual remote services

Librarians:

Other Library Staff:

Staff Handout:  Vancouver Library - Resources & Services

BC Cancer - Prince George Library / CIC

The BC Cancer-Prince George Centre for the North (CN) Library respectfully acknowledges the Lheidli T'enneh Nation on whose traditional territories the library is privileged to operate. Professional resources purchased for CN are house in the adjacent UNHBC Library.

Location: Centre for the North: 1215 Lethbridge St., Prince George, BC, Canada V2N 7E9

  • There is a small collection of BC Cancer library books located adjacent in UHNBC, in the Northern Health Library. BC Cancer library resources are interfiled amongst CN Library collection materials. 

General Library Email: requests@bccancer.bc.ca

Phone: 604-675-8002

Hours: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm (Monday - Friday). After hours swipe card access using your BC Cancer staff card. 

Librarians: CN Staff have access to Vancouver Library staff services 

Staff Handout:  Prince George Library - Resources & Services.

BC Cancer - Surrey Library / (CIC)

The BC Cancer-Surrey Library respectfully acknowledges the q̓ic̓əy̓ (Katzie), Qʼʷa:n̓ƛʼən̓ (Kwantlen), and sc̓əwaθən məsteyəxʷ (Tsawwassen) Nations on whose traditional territories the library is privileged to operate.

Location: Surrey Memorial Hospital: 13775 96 Ave., Surrey, BC V3T 4H9

  • Staff collection is located on the 3rd floor (medical staff area) and accessible any time, 24/7
  • Patient collection is located on the 1st floor. Due to current Covid restrictions, the shelves are currently locked.  

General Library Email: library_fvc@bccancer.bc.ca 

Phone: 604-930-2098 x 654576

Librarian Office Hours:

  • In-person: Wednesday 8:30 am - 4:30 pm
  • Virtual services: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday 8:30 am - 4:30 pm

Librarian:  Elena Popova   elena.popova@bccancer.bc.ca

Staff Handout:  Surrey Library - Resources & Services.

BC Cancer - Victoria Library

The BC Cancer-Victoria Library respectfully acknowledges the Lək̓ʷəŋən Peoples (Esquimalt and Songhees Nations) whose traditional territories the library is privileged to operate.

Location: BC Cancer - Victoria: 2410 Lee Ave., Victoria BC, V8R 6V5 (next to the Royal Jubilee Hospital)

General Library Email: library_vic@bccancer.bc.ca  

Phone: (250) 519-5517 x 695517 

Hours: 24/7 BC Cancer staff access to library collections

  • Librarian in-person hours: Monday - Thursday 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Virtual Services: Friday 8:00 am - 4:00 pm

Librarian:  Lorraine Leitz: lleitz@bccancer.bc.ca

Staff Handout: Victoria Library - Resources & Services.

BC Cancer - Abbotsford Library / CIC

The BC Cancer-Abbotsford Library respectfully acknowledges the Sumas and Mastqui Nations on whose traditional territories the library is privileged to operate.

Location: Abbotsford Regional Hospital & Cancer Centre: 32900 Marshall Rd., Abbotsford, BC V2S 0C2

General Library Email:  library_ac@bccancer.bc.ca 

Phone: 604-851-4710 x 646827    

Hours: 24/7 employee ID swipe access to the library. Contact security if you experience any difficulties. 

  • Librarian In-person hours: Monday & Tuesday 8:00 am - 2:00 pm
  • Virtual services: Wednesday 8:00 am - 4:00 pm

Librarian:  Pamela Bontuyan:  pamela.bontuyan@bccancer.bc.ca

Staff Handout: Abbotsford Library - Resources & Services.

BC Cancer - Kelowna Library / CIC

The BC Cancer-Kelowna Library respectfully acknowledges the Syilx (Okanagan) Nation on whose traditional territories the library is privileged to operate.

Location BC Cancer - Kelowna (Sindi Ahluwalia Hawkins Centre): 399 Royal Ave., Kelowna, BC V1Y 5L3

General Library Email  library_csi@bccancer.bc.ca

Phone (250) 712-3966 x 686821

Hours: Please use the adjacent meeting rooms door code for access. 

  • Librarian in-person hours: Monday - Wednesday 8:00 am - 4:00 pm 
  • Virtual services: Thursday-Friday 8:30am - 4:30pm (via Vancouver Library)

Librarian  Krista Clement: kclement@bccancer.bc.ca

Staff Handout:  Kelowna Library - Resources & Services.

Password Alert

ACCESS UPDATE  June 2022


R2 eBooks

Personal accounts made to use R2 eBooks from offsite will become "inactive" after 6 months of no use. If you have an inactive R2 account, contact the BC Cancer Library to have your R2 password changed, which will reactivate your R2 individual sign-in. 

News

March 2022 Library Newsletter

Showcasing select full text eJournal titles that the library subscribes to for you, new patient and BC Cancer staff book and eBook arrivals, and more. Read more on what the library has and can do for you to support your research and practice endeavors!

Learning Hub Logo

The Library is on the Learning Hub!

Did you know that the Library has Learning Hub modules for BC Cancer staff? These modules include video tutorials and short activities to help you find, access, and use e-resources.

Search for BC Cancer library on the Learning Hub for our list of online modules!

2021-2022 Library Year in Review

*New! 2021-2022 Year in Review

Read our 2021-2022 Library Year in Review for a snapshot of what we have done - and can do - for you to support your clinical and research endeavors, AND your patients. 

Previous library publications are available in the About Us tab.

Curbside pick-up

COVID-19 Updates

We continue to support patients and staff and provide reference, research, and document delivery services virtually or via phone and email, and offer free mail delivery of books and curbside pick-up at the Vancouver site.

Questions and Speech Bubbles

Information Referral Form

The Information Referral Form is a tool to help health professionals connect patients to relevant and credible information.
Review the form with your patients during their appointment and submit the form online.
WHERE CAN I GET IT?
Find the online version on the BC Cancer Library page or ask your Librarian!

cat with libguide background



 The BC Cancer library system consists of a central library at Vancouver Centre (VC), and branches in Abbotsford (AC), Kelowna (SAHCSI), Prince George (CN), Surrey (FVC), and Victoria (VIC). All centres have patient resource collections in our Cancer Information Centres (CIC), and all centres have a professional collection on site. Professional resources for CN are housed in the adjacent UHNBC Library.