Library Portal

RCM Word Add-In at BC Cancer

Staff may get an email notification from Microsoft when RCM is deployed to PHSA BC Cancer (Apr 2024).  No action is required - it is a simple notification of the new feature in Word.

What Is Refworks Citation Manager (RCM)?

• RCM is an add-in that connects your RefWorks account to MS Word documents (like Write-n-Cite does).
• RCM uses your existing RefWorks account - there are no changes to RefWorks.
• When the Office365 Admin deploys RCM to BC Cancer, staff may get an email notification.  No action is required - it is a simple notification of the new feature in Word.
• A Word document can either use Write-n-Cite or RCM, not both.  The two add-ins are separate.

Why BC Cancer is switching to RCM

• RCM has been the current MS Word citation "add-in" or app for RefWorks for many years. PHSA BC Cancer is now able to provide this to users.
• Will Write-n-Cite still be available? Write-n-Cite is being discontinued by ProQuest RefWorks in 2025. 

When will RCM be available?

• April 2024: deployment to Office365 (no user action required). 
• Early summer 2024:  The BC Cancer Library is developing user support, and will contact users about the RCM launch early this summer.
• You will have time to make this transition over coming months, as Write-n-Cite will continue to work in 2024.
• Planning:  Because some programs and researchers have many documents in progress, it is wise to plan your transition. If you have supplemental help e.g. summer interns or student practicums, that may be a timely opportunity to do document conversion before Dec 2024. 

How will RCM be deployed?

• RCM will be an approved add-in for all BC Cancer Microsoft Word desktop users. No requests or installs needed.
• BC Cancer staff may get a notification email. 
• In Word, users will now see two "ribbon bar" tabs: RefWorks (which is Write-n-Cite) and RCM.  Some users may need a couple more steps to make RCM visible.
• Wait, please! The BC Cancer Library will test the process and provide instructions for RefWorks and Write-n-Cite users.  You may want to wait until we have more details before using RCM.
• RefWorks has developed a document converter to automatically switch Word documents from Write-n-Cite to RCM. 
• The Library will not convert your documents for you. We will provide step-by-step procedures and support the transition.

Learning About RCM

More info on RCM will be coming. Here are links for interested users.

NOTE on installing: These external sites may give install instructions. At BC Cancer, RCM will be deployed centrally. We do not have access to the Microsoft Store. Users are welcome to install RCM on personal devices and computers, to use RefWorks at home or elsewhere.

RCM is an "Add In" for MS Word.  At BC Cancer, it is deployed for all staff - you do not need to request it or have it installed. 

If you choose to use RCM at home or on your personal device, please follow the instructions provided in RefWorks under the "Tools" menu.

Tips If RCM Doesn't Appear In The Word Ribbon

1. Restart your computer.  Close all programs first, and reboot. Updates often don't show up until after a restart.
2. Refresh the Add-Ins in Word:
   • At the top of Word, find the "Insert" tab, and on the Insert ribbon, click "Add Ins"

• The box will probably be empty. Click Refresh at the top right. If RCM appears, click Add at the bottom of the box.

3. Check RCM in the Add-ins list (if the above doesn't work).  Go to the File tab, then choose Options at the bottom of the page, and open the Customize Ribbon options box.  On the right, scroll the list of Ribbon tabs available and if RCM is there, uncheck and recheck it. 

Once Write-N-Cite 4 has been installed on  your computer, you can view the formatting of your in-text citations, footnotes and bibliography – all while you are writing your paper.

To get started

1. Click "RefWorks” in your MS Word ribbon to launch Write-N-Cite
2. Select a citation output style
3. Insert in-text citations or footnotes and your bibliography
4. Save your paper frequently

If you do not see a "Refworks" tab in the MS Word ribbon, you do not have Write-N-Cite installed yet. See the side panel for instructions at BC Cancer. Continue using Refworks online until the install has been done.

Step 1. Launch Write-N-Cite

Note:  The first time you launch Write-N-Cite, you must be connected to the internet in order to log in to your RefWorks library and sync it with Write-N-Cite.

Tip:  In most cases, there is no need to log out of Write-N-Cite when you are not using it.  If you are using Write-N-Cite on a public computer without a personal login, you should log out of Write-N-Cite when you complete your work.  If someone does gain access to a system with your RefWorks library logged in to Write-N-Cite, they will not be able to change anything in your account since Write-N-Cite doesn’t have any features to edit your items.

Logging In To Write-N-Cite:

1. Click RefWorks from the Microsoft Word ribbon. 

2. Click Log In.


 3. Enter your email address and Refworks password and click "Login".


The first time you log in to Write-N-Cite, it will automatically “sync” with your RefWorks library.  This may take a few minutes. It is downloading your references and collections.  Any time you make changes to your RefWorks items, log out and then log back in. The Sync my Database feature does not work on staff computers. 

Write-N-Cite functions will not become active until syncing has finished.

Step 2.  Selecting Your Output Style

The first thing you will want to do is select an output style for your document.  Any in-text citations or footnotes and your bibliography will be displayed in your document while you write your paper – in the output style you have selected.  You can always change the style later if you need to.

1. Click the Style drop down. You will see a list of RefWorks' recent styles.

2. Click on the style name.

3. You can change your output style and the formatting of your paper at any time by clicking on another Style in the list and selecting a new output style. Access to other Styles can be gained by using Select Other Style at the bottom of the list.

 

HINT:  While writing, choose a style that will help you recognize the reference, e.g. a style that shows the author and date. If you need a numbered style later, you will be able to change the style at the end of your writing process.

Step 3. Write Your Paper and Insert Citations or Footnotes and Your Bibliography

Note:  You may want to log out and then log back into your RefWorks library with Write-N-Cite if you have recently added items you want to use in your paper. This will ensure that any changes made in your RefWorks account will appear in Write-N-Cite.

When you are ready to insert an in-text citation or footnote into your paper:

1.  Click the Insert Citation and Insert New option to launch the insert/edit citation box.  If you have previously used Write-N-Cite, you may see some recently selected citations listed above the Insert New option.   You can select citations displayed from this list or access all your references from the Insert New option. 


2. Once the Insert/Edit Citation box displays, you can access your items by Collection or by searching.  The Search box will search every field.

Tip: Use the horizontal scroll bar to see the full title.  Right-click on the item and select Show Full Reference Detail to display all fields of information (file attachments are not displayed).

Full Reference View:

3.  Click on the item you wish to insert into your paper.  You will see a preview of the formatted citation in your current Output Style.

Tip:  Add more references to the citation using the plus icon, remove them by using the minus icon, or reorder the references with the up and down arrows in the Compose Citation area.

4. Click OK to insert your formatted citation into your paper.

5. To insert a footnote instead of an in-text citation, click the Make Footnote checkbox in the Edit References area.  Once you make a footnote and finish editing the citation, you will not be able to undo this action.  However, you can always add a new in-text citation.

6. You can insert your bibliography anywhere in your paper while you are writing.  Click Bibliography Options, Insert Bibliography.  Note: the bibliography will be inserted wherever the cursor is in your paper. 

You can click Remove Bibliography and re-insert if it you need to change the location.

Step 4. Save your formatted paper (you should really save it periodically while you are writing!).  

RCM (Refworks Citation Manager) add-in for MS Word

BC Cancer is finally able to provide users with RCM, the most current RefWorks add-in for Word documents. 

April 2024

• RCM has been "deployed" for BC Cancer early in April. No action is required.
• The BC Cancer Library will be testing RCM and creating guides to support users.
• Users can wait to use RCM. Existing documents and Write-n-Cite will not be affected at this time.

If RCM is not visible to you in MS Word on your workstation, check the Tips box on this page, further down. RCM is new to us, too! We will be able to support you better in a few weeks.

May 2024

• BC Cancer Library will contact RefWorks users with instructions on RCM
• Write-n-Cite users will want to begin learning RCM

Jun - Sept 2024

• BC Cancer Library will provide step-by-step instructions for converting Word documents to an RCM-linked version
• All Write-n-Cite users convert their linked Word documents to RCM 

To install Write-N-Cite on a BC Cancer workstation, use the IMITS Desktop Software form, or contact your Librarian. 

When making your IMITS Software - Install, Transfer, Remove request, please indicate the following:

• Request type: Order and Install Software
• Software Title: Refworks Write N-Cite 4
• User workstation host name (the barcoded label on your existing work device)
• Additional information:  free MS Word plug-in included in the Refworks license (BC Cancer Library), that has already been packaged by IMITS​ for install on BC Cancer computers.

You can use Write-N-Cite with Microsoft Word and Google Docs. These writing tools may refer to "Write-N-Cite" as "RefWorks" in the navigation ribbon. Write-N-Cite 4 works with the current version of Refworks, or Legacy Refworks, to add references into a paper and format them automatically.

You may also install Write-N-Cite on your personal computer or laptop, from the "Tools" menu inside Refworks.

Write-n-Cite Offsite / At Home / Personal Computers

Write-n-Cite can be added to MS Word on any computer you use: offsite, laptops, and working from home.  Download it from inside your Refworks account (Tools).

There is also a Google Docs app for Write-n-Cite. 

Offsite computers may be of different types (e.g. Mac) or operating systems, or versions of MS Word. While Refworks offers a writing tool for almost any computer,  they are not the same tool.  The different writing tools or apps for Refworks might not work together, so the document citations and bibliography will need to be edited using the same tool.  

• Write-n-Cite 4 works for both Windows and Mac computers, in MS Word 2016, Word 2013 and Word 2010. 
• Windows MS Word 2019 or online and MacOS X / iOS Word 2016, 2019 or online: the app is called RCM (Refworks Citation Manager).  
• Google Docs uses 'Refworks for Google Docs'
• Hangul uses RCM Hangul
• Refworks Legacy users can also use Write-n-Cite 4. If you have accounts in both versions of Refworks, be very careful to notice where you are logged in.

Don't type bibliographies. 

Citation managers are specialized databases for holding references, keeping track of journal articles and other publications, and then producing bibliographies: formatted lists of resources e.g. for CVs or research.

Other citation managers may be used at PHSA & BC Cancer.

• Mendeley is a tested and approved plug in / desktop utility. If your Mendeley account is not working, IMITS can fix it.
• Mendeley is especially useful for teams using LaTeX to manage their documents.
• Some teams use EndNote or other programs and have purchased their own license.

BC Cancer Library can't offer training for every citation manager program. We may be able to help you find websites with more info.