Skip to Main Content
BC Cancer Library COVID-19 Update
Alert: All BC Cancer Library sites and Cancer Information Centres are closed to the public until further notice. We continue to support patients and staff, providing reference, research, document delivery and more from a virtual platform. The library is still monitoring our email and phones during our regular Monday-Friday hours of operation and can still help you.

Staff Guide

The BC Cancer library system consists of one central library at Vancouver Centre (VC), and branches in Abbotsford (AC), Kelowna (SAHCSI), Prince George (CN), Surrey (FVC), and Victoria (VIC). All centres have a collection of patient resources in a Cancer Information Centre (CIC), and most centres have a professional collection on site. Professional resources purchased for the CN are housed in the adjacent UHNBC Library.

Staff can connect to library services via the BC Cancer Library website, the Staff Guide, or the POD (if on the network). For more information on staff and patient services, please visit the Services tab. 

Library History

The Don Rix Discovery Centre was built in 2005 using contributions from Dr Rix, who stipulated the library be easily accessible to patients and staff alike and provide an open and welcoming space to anyone seeking library and information services. 

Born in 1931, Donald Rix was born in Orilla, Ontario and grew up in London, Ontario. He attended the University of Western Ontario where he obtained a BA in 1953 followed by his MD four years later. Rix began practicing general medicine in Vancouver from his West Point Grey clinic beginning in 1958. He later completed a residency in pathology out of VGH and was granted his fellowship in 1972.

Perhaps Dr. Rix’s greatest contribution came in his development and investment in British Columbia’s fledgling bio-tech industries. He joined the company Metropolitan Biomedical Laboratories (Metro) in 1969, eventually expanding the company to become the largest independent medical laboratory in Western Canada. Metro, eventually rebranded as LifeLabs in 2006, provided cutting edge services to the residents of British Columbia. For his numerous contributions to medical science and technologies Rix was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award by the BC Biotechnology Association in 2004 and in 2005, received the Bill Thompson Award from the BC Technology Industry Association for Lifetime Leadership and Achievement.

The BC Cancer Library provides timely and evidence informed services to staff, researchers, patients, and families operating out of the six BC Cancer clinics located across the province. This was only made possible by Dr. Rix and his commitment to philanthropy, education, and the pursuit of medical and technological advancement.

Locations & Contacts

BC Cancer - Vancouver Library / CIC 

The BC Cancer-Vancouver Library respectfully acknowledges the xʷməθkwəy̓əm (Musqueam), Skwxwú7mesh (Squamish), and Səl̓ílwətaɬ (Tsleil-Waututh) Nations on whose traditional territories the library is privileged to operate.

General Library Email library@bccancer.bc.ca  

Phone 604-675-8002

Hours 8:30 am - 4:30 pm (Monday - Friday) - Currently operating virtually

Librarians

Other Library Staff

Location BC Cancer Research Centre - 675 West 10th Ave., Vancouver BC V5Z 1L3

After Hours BC Cancer Staff Access The library site is still currently closed to all staff. Please check back later for information once we have reopened.

Staff Handout: For more information regarding contacts and services at this location, please see our Vancouver Library - Resources & Services Handout.

BC Cancer - Prince George Library / CIC

The BC Cancer-Prince George Library respectfully acknowledges the Lheidli T'enneh Nation on whose traditional territories the library is privileged to operate.

Staff in the Centre for the North have access to library staff services via the BC Cancer - Vancouver Library.

General Library Email library@bccancer.bc.ca

Phone 604-675-8002

Hours 8:30 am - 4:30 pm (Monday - Friday)

Librarians

Location Centre for the North: 1215 Lethbridge st., Prince George, BC, Canada V2N 7E9

  • There is a small collection of BC Cancer library books located adjacent in UHNBC, in the Northern Health Library. BC Cancer library resources are interfiled amongst CN Library collection materials. 

After Hours BC Cancer Staff Access 24/7 swipe card access using your BC Cancer staff card. 

Staff Handout: For more information regarding contacts and services at this location, please see our Prince George Library - Resources & Services Handout.

BC Cancer - Surrey Library / (CIC)

The BC Cancer-Surrey Library respectfully acknowledges the q̓ic̓əy̓ (Katzie), Qʼʷa:n̓ƛʼən̓ (Kwantlen), and sc̓əwaθən məsteyəxʷ (Tsawwassen) Nations on whose traditional territories the library is privileged to operate.

General Library Email library_fvc@bccancer.bc.ca 

Phone 604-930-2098 x 654576

Librarian Office Hours In-person: Wednesday 8:30 am - 4:30 pm / Virtual services: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday 8:30 am - 4:30 pm

Librarian  Elena Popova:   elena.popova@bccancer.bc.ca

Location Surrey Memorial Hospital: 13775 96 Ave., Surrey, BC V3T 4H9

  • Staff collection is located on the 3rd floor (medical staff area) and accessible any time, 24/7
  • Patient collection is located on the 1st floor. Due to current Covid restrictions, the shelves are currently locked.  

Staff Handout: For more information regarding contacts and services at this location, please see our Surrey Library - Resources & Services Handout.

BC Cancer - Victoria Library

The BC Cancer-Victoria Library respectfully acknowledges the Lək̓ʷəŋən Peoples (Esquimalt and Songhees Nations) whose traditional territories the library is privileged to operate.

General Library Email library_vic@bccancer.bc.ca  

Phone (250) 519-5517 x 695517 

Staff Hours 8:00 am - 4:00 pm (Monday - Friday)

Librarian  Lorraine Leitz: lleitz@bccancer.bc.ca

Location BC Cancer - Victoria: 2410 Lee Ave., Victoria BC, V8R 6V5 (next to the Royal Jubilee Hospital)

After Hours BC Cancer Staff Access No restrictions. 24/7 access to library collections. 

Staff Handout: For more information regarding contacts and services at this location, please see our Victoria Library - Resources & Services Handout.

BC Cancer - Abbotsford Library / CIC

The BC Cancer-Abbotsford Library respectfully acknowledges the Sumas and Mastqui Nations on whose traditional territories the library is privileged to operate.

General Library Email  library_ac@bccancer.bc.ca 

Phone 604-851-4710 x 646827    

Librarian Office Hours In-person: Monday 8:00 am - 2:00 pm / Virtual services: Tuesday 8:00 am - 2:00 pm, Wednesday 8:00 am - 4:00 pm

Librarian  Pamela Bontuyan:  pamela.bontuyan@bccancer.bc.ca

Location Abbotsford Regional Hospital & Cancer Centre: 32900 Marshall Rd., Abbotsford, BC V2S 0C2

After Hours BC Cancer Staff Access 24/7 employee ID swipe access. Contact security if you experience any difficulties.

Staff Handout: For more information regarding contacts and services at this location, please see our Abbotsford Library - Resources & Services Handout.

BC Cancer - Kelowna Library / CIC

The BC Cancer-Kelowna Library respectfully acknowledges the Syilx (Okanagan) Nation on whose traditional territories the library is privileged to operate.

General Library Email  library_csi@bccancer.bc.ca

Phone (250) 712-3966 x 686821

Staff Hours 8:00 am - 4:00 pm (Monday - Wednesday)

Librarian  Krista Clement: kclement@bccancer.bc.ca

Location BC Cancer - Kelowna (Sindi Ahluwalia Hawkins Centre): 399 Royal Ave., Kelowna, BC V1Y 5L3

After Hours BC Cancer Staff Access Please use the adjacent meeting rooms door code for access.  

Staff Handout: For more information regarding contacts and services at this location, please see our Kelowna Library - Resources & Services Handout.

Your Library Team

Krista Profile Photo

Krista Clement

Reference Librarian
Location: BC Cancer - Kelowna Library / CIC
Email: kclement@bccancer.bc.ca
Telephone: (250) 712-3966 x686821

Susan Profile Photo

Susan Morris

Library Technician
Location: 
BC Cancer - Vancouver Library / CIC
Email: susan.morris@bccancer.bc.ca
Telephone: (604) 675-8000 x7004

Blank profile image

Chantalle Jack

Provincial Library Leader
Location: BC Cancer - Vancouver Library / CIC
Email: chantalle.jack@bccancer.bc.ca
Telephone: 604-675-8004

Annie Profile Photo

Annie Rilkoff

Library Clerk, Document Delivery
Location:
BC Cancer - Vancouver Library / CIC
Email: requests@bccancer.bc.ca
Telephone: 604-675-8002

Shannon Cheng

Reference Librarian
Locations:

  • BC Cancer - Vancouver Library / CIC
  • BC Cancer - Prince George Library / CIC

Email: shannon.cheng@bccancer.bc.ca
Telephone: 604-675-8005

Blank profile image

Elena Popova

Reference Librarian
Locations:

  • BC Cancer - Vancouver Library / CIC
  • BC Cancer - Prince George Library / CIC
  • BC Cancer - Surrey Library / CIC

Email: elena.popova@bccancer.bc.ca
Telephone: 604-675-8006

Lorraine Profile Photo

Lorraine Leitz

Reference Librarian
Location: BC Cancer - Victoria Library / CIC
Email: lleitz@bccancer.bc.ca
Telephone: (250) 519-5517 x 695517

Pamela Profile Photo

Pamela Bontuyan

Reference Librarian
Location: BC Cancer - Abbotsford Library / CIC
Email: 
pamela.bontuyan@bccancer.bc.ca
Telephone:  604-851-4710 x 646827 

Living & Working on Indigenous Lands

Our library locations are situated across traditional, ancestral, and unceded territories of First Nations Peoples and we are grateful to live and work on these lands. We respectfully extend our library services across what is commonly known as British Columbia and the Yukon and we acknowledge the continued resilience of the First Nations Peoples, the Métis people, and the Inuit, whom we serve in these areas.

The Library recognizes that Indigenous peoples have experienced and continue to experience discrimination and trauma within the healthcare system. The Library strives to listen to and respond to the health information needs of Indigenous peoples. We are working to improve the healthcare system by actively promoting and providing resources that centre Indigenous voices.

For the specific First Nations territories on which we are located, please see Locations & Contacts

For a map of these lands, please see the Native Land Digital map or the Territories and Land Maps for more resources.



 The BC Cancer library system consists of one central library at Vancouver Centre (VC), and branches in Abbotsford (AC), Kelowna (SAHCSI), Prince George (CN), Surrey (FVC), and Victoria (VIC). All centres have a collection of patient resources in a Cancer Information Centre (CIC), and most centres have a professional collection on site. Professional resources purchased for the CN are housed in the adjacent UHNBC Library.