The world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals. This database provides broad content coverage from over 1300 journals. Topics include: Nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health, and medicine.
Do you have a personal EBSCO account? Copy and paste this URL to login: https://login.bccancer.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=user
Access RestrictionsBC Cancer staff use only. Login required.
Alternate Name(s)
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews (EBMR),
Cochrane
A definitive resource for electronic information in the evidence based medicine (EBM) movement, this EBMR combines eight highly trusted resources into a single searchable database. Information about the separate databases is available on the Ovid website.
Databases include:
ACP Journal Club (ACP)
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CCTR)
Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCA)
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE) – although the NHS is no longer updating the content in this database, the archive of the data continues to be accessible on the Ovid platform)
Health Technology Assessments (HTA)
NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
Access RestrictionsBC Cancer staff use only. Login required.
An international (European-focused) biomedical and pharmaceutical database covering over 8,500 journals. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine.
Access RestrictionsBC Cancer staff use only. Login required.
HBE provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.
Access RestrictionsBC Cancer staff use only. Login required.
A drug information resource containing a variety of databases including: American Hospital Formulary System (AHFS), drug formulary for Lucile Packard Children's Hospital (LPCH) and Stanford Hospital & Clinics (SHC).
The most commonly used database is Lexi-Drugs, which has drug monographs that can be used to answer questions on adverse reactions, dosage and administration, mechanism of action, storage, use, and administration.
Access RestrictionsBC Cancer staff use only. Login required.
Medline is the major database for finding journal articles in the fields of medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, nursing, pre-clinical sciences and the health care system. It indexes nearly 6000 journals, going back as far as 1946, and uses an extensive controlled hierarchical thesaurus of Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to help connect related concepts.
Ovid's version provides direct full text for ~300 journals (with no embargo period), but will connect to all the full text available from the combined e-HLbc resources. Ovid Medline also links to the full text from the EBMR databases.
Access RestrictionsBC Cancer staff use only. Login required.
Medline is the major database for finding journal articles in the fields of medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, nursing, pre-clinical sciences and the health care system. It indexes nearly 6000 journals, going back as far as 1946, and uses an extensive controlled hierarchical thesaurus of Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to help connect related concepts.
Do you have a personal EBSCO account? Copy and paste this URL to login: https://login.bccancer.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=user
EBSCO's version includes full text for ~1400 journals and will connect to all the full text available from the combined e-HLbc resources. Many journals are subject to embargo periods ranging from 3-18 months after publication before the full text is made available in the database.
Access RestrictionsBC Cancer staff use only. Login required.
Formerly the Natural Standard AND Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database.
Natural Medicines is the most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies. This newly enhanced product provides the best features and functionality from both Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database.
Access RestrictionsBC Cancer staff use only. Login required.
A point-of-care tool, UpToDate covers over 8,500 topics in 17 medical specialties and includes more than 97,000 pages of text, plus graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 385,000 references and a drug database.
This resource is only available to BC Cancer. To create your UpToDate account, log into UpToDate on a BC Cancer networked computer. Click on Register at the top right of the home page and create your user account. Once complete, you will be able to access UpToDate remotely, anywhere. Please remember to log into UpToDate on a BC Cancer network every 2 months to re-authenticate your account.
Access RestrictionsBC Cancer staff use only. Login required.
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Alternate Name(s)
Electronic Nutrition Care Process Terminology
The Nutrition Care Process (NCP) is designed to improve the consistency and quality of nutrition care and the predictability of the nutrition care outcomes. It is not intended to standardize nutrition care for clients, but rather to establish a standardized process for providing care.
BC Cancer has licensed 5 seats. Please log out when done.
Access RestrictionsBC Cancer staff use only. Login required.
HBE provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.
Access RestrictionsBC Cancer staff use only. Login required.
Loading...
Loading...
The BC Cancer library system consists of a central library at Vancouver Centre (VC), and branches in Abbotsford (AC), Kelowna (SAHCSI), Prince George (CN), Surrey (FVC), and Victoria (VIC). All centres have patient resource collections in our Cancer Information Centres (CIC), and all centres have a professional collection on site. Professional resources for CN are housed in the adjacent UHNBC Library.
The BC Cancer library system consists of a central library at Vancouver Centre (VC), and branches in Abbotsford (AC), Kelowna (SAHCSI), Prince George (CN), Surrey (FVC), and Victoria (VIC). All centres have patient resource collections in our Cancer Information Centres (CIC), and all centres have a professional collection on site. Professional resources for CN are housed in the adjacent UHNBC Library.