Home: Clinical Practice Guidelines: Finding Guidelines

PHSA Guidelines and Policies

Remember to visit SHOP, the central access point for PHSA policies and decision support tools such as guidelines, procedures, protocols and standards.

If you know other cancer organizations that post clinical practice guidelines online, please send the link by email.

Tips for Finding Guidelines

Check databases by searching for your topic and selecting "Guideline" or "Practice Guideline" from the Publication Type or Article Type filter.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals. This database provides broad content coverage from over 1300 journals. Topics include: Nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health, and medicine.
Do you have a personal EBSCO account? Copy and paste this URL to login: https://login.bccancer.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=user
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database This link opens in a new window
The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) is widely regarded as one of the world’s leading providers of evidence–based information. The Institute’s EBP Database is a comprehensive range of resources including over 3,000 records across seven publication types. They include literature reviews, recommended practices and procedures, information guideline sheets, comprehensive systematic reviews and protocols, recommended practices, best practice information sheets and technical reports. The resource also includes a set of eight online evidence-based practice (EBP) appraisal, implementation, and management tools.
Tools Include:
- JBI SUMARI (System for the Unified Management of the Assessment and Review of Information): Learn to develop, conduct and report on systematic reviews of evidence related to the feasibility, appropriateness, meaningfulness and effectiveness of health care interventions or professional activities.
- JBI PACES (Practical Application of Clinical Evidence System): Easily conduct timesaving, efficient, evidence-based clinical audits and change practice
Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Medline is the major database for finding journal articles in the fields of medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, nursing, pre-clinical sciences and the health care system. It indexes nearly 6000 journals, going back as far as 1946, and uses an extensive controlled hierarchical thesaurus of Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to help connect related concepts.
Ovid's version provides direct full text for ~300 journals (with no embargo period), but will connect to all the full text available from the combined e-HLbc resources. Ovid Medline also links to the full text from the EBMR databases.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Open access platform provided by the National Library of Medicine (US). PubMed contains all Medline records, plus many un-indexed citations from major science journals.
Free to access. Restrictions to content may apply.
2022: Change to account log in - use ORCiD or academic affiliation to validate login.
TRIP Medical Database This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Clinicians can also search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.