Add your text between the p tags
bold your keyword within the b tags
Add your hyperlink within the a tags, and put your url within the href double quote.
Our library locations are situated across First Nations traditional, ancestral, and unceded territories, and we are grateful to live and work on these lands. We respectfully extend our library services across what is commonly known as British Columbia and the Yukon, and we acknowledge the continued resilience of the First Nations Peoples, the Métis people, and the Inuit, whom we serve in these areas.
For more information, please see our About Us page.
This guide is focused on information and resources on First Nations, Inuit, and Métis health. It is intended to help staff work together with Indigenous research partners and patients, however it is not a comprehensive collection of resources.
To search databases, visit our database list.
For journal articles and ebooks, use Full Text Finder:
For additional information and help finding literature and other resources related to cancer and Indigenous populations, contact your Librarian.
The world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. PsycInfo contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, theses and dissertations. PsychInfo includes references from the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines - medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, sport, business, and law.
The world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals. This database provides broad content coverage from over 1300 journals. Topics include: Nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health, and medicine.
BC Cancer collaborates with the First Nations Health Authority (FNHA), Métis Nation British Columbia, and the BC Association of Aboriginal Friendship Centres to improve cancer control.
For patient resources developed out of these collaborations, such as the Indigenous Cancer Strategy, please see the Indigenous Cancer Control web page.
Indigenous Patient Navigators (IPN) work with the cancer team to deliver supportive, trauma-informed and culturally safe care to Indigenous patients and their families. Patients who identify as Indigenous, First nations, Metis, Inuit, Status and Non-Status, can access IPN services.
Referrals for Indigenous Patient Navigators
If you would like to speak with an Indigenous Patient Navigator, fill out the referral form. You can do this yourself or ask a member of your health care team to do it.
A printable version of the referral form is available below. Please email the completed form to: icc@bccancer.bc.ca.
The BC Cancer library system consists of a central library at Vancouver Centre, and branches in Abbotsford, Kelowna, Prince George, and Victoria where both patient and professional collections are available on site. Librarian staff are available at all centres, including Surrey.
