Add your text between the p tags
bold your keyword within the b tags
Add your hyperlink within the a tags, and put your url within the href double quote.
Otherwise known as:
All of these are ways to give readers access to the original sources used in reaching conclusions or writing a paper.
Providing credit to original sources is critical to academic integrity. Plagiarism is the offense of claiming someone else's work or idea without citing their contribution. This is why citing - citation - is important. Without it, research is discredited and there can be professional consequences for the authors.
Journals have a page called "Instructions to Authors", which usually provide details. Look for "Manuscript preparation" or "References list". BEWARE of journal instructions that use a specific style with certain modifications. Pay close attention to the difference from the base style named.
Conferences may tell you which style to use. Otherwise, contact your submission committee for details.
CVs, Grant Applications, and Professional Accrediting Bodies vary in how strict they are. Check for instructions, but if a style is described and not named, it may be worth asking. Sometimes as long as you provide a numbered or an alphabetical listing (whichever), the committee is not concerned about specific style.
Publishers are very strict about the formatting of the citations. Conferences and academic bodies may also have requirements.
The essential elements include: authors or editors ; title of work or item; title of the larger work: journal, book, or website it can be found within ; publisher, place, edition, volume, issue, or other specifics; date. Be very careful with the following arrangement details:
There is more, but that's enough to give you the idea.
The BC Cancer Library does not keep full, current sets of citation style guides. See the sidebar for some online options. We recommend using RefWorks or another good quality citation manager to create bibliographies for publication.
Do you really have to type it all up by hand? No.
Citation style managers are programs (apps) to generate a formatted bibliography for you.
RefWorks is the citation style manager provided by the BC Cancer Library. Most of your references are imported, not typed in, reducing mistakes. Cloud access provides seamless onsite / offsite use anywhere, and the citation style formatting has been highly accurate. Custom formats are also available.
Other citation style managers exist, and many database searches will also format references in a few popular styles.
Q: What is the difference between Vancouver Style, the Uniform Style for Citation in Medical Journals, and the ICMJE Recommendations?
A: These are different historical names for the citation style (bibliography or references list) described by the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE). The Vancouver Style and Uniform Style were from the ICMJE, and have been updated by the ICMJE Recommendations. They point to Citing Medicine: The NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers as the current style - which is from the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Examples of the bibliography style can be found on the ICMJE Recommendations site, where it is still called "Uniform Requirements."
Q: Is this the same as the American Medical Association (AMA) style?
A: No. Sorry. They are quite different.
Essentially, the recommendations describe best practices in medical publishing. They include many topics, but the part of most interest to authors is the Manuscript Preparation for Submission section.
"These recommendations are intended primarily for use by authors who might submit their work for publication to ICMJE member journals. Many non-ICMJE journals voluntarily use these recommendations (see www.icmje.org/journals.html). The ICMJE encourages that use but has no authority to monitor or enforce it. In all cases, authors should use these recommendations along with individual journals' instructions to authors."
The Recommendations do not include a citation style. They aren't a citation style for bibliographies. Instead, the ICMJE recommends using Citing Medicine, which is the NLM citation style guide above.
RefWorks, a citation manager for making bibliography lists, is provided by the BC Cancer Library.
See the websites below for more details and examples of different citation styles.
The BC Cancer library system consists of a central library at Vancouver Centre, and branches in Abbotsford, Kelowna, Prince George, and Victoria where both patient and professional collections are available on site. Librarian staff are available at all centres, including Surrey.