Home: Nutrition: Websites

International Oncology Nutrition Websites

A dietetic practice group of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, the Oncology Nutrition Dietetic Practice Group (ON DPG) covers cancer research, prevention, treatment, recovery, palliative care, and hospice. The website provides dietetic professionals with resources and networking opportunities to deal with the complexities of oncology practice.

The Canadian Nutrient File (CNF) is the standard reference food composition database reporting the amount of nutrients in foods commonly consumed in Canada. Includes levels of fortification and regulatory standards specific to Canada, Canadian only foods, and, where appropriate, some brand name foods. Data in the CNF are recorded per 100g of the edible portion of the food. Conversion factors or multipliers to adjust this data to common household measures are provided.

An app-based precision nutrition tool, Cronometer is a comprehensive nutrition tracker providing personalized insight into diet, exercise, and health data. Available for individual and professional use.

Dr. Duke's Phytochemical and Ethnobotanical databases facilitate in-depth plant, chemical, bioactivity, and ethnobotany searches using scientific or common names. Search results can be downloaded in spreadsheet form. Of interest to pharmaceutical, nutritional, and biomedical research, as well as alternative therapies and herbal products.

NHANES is a national survey that measures the health and nutrition of adults and children in the United States. Includes health exams and laboratory tests for participants of all ages.

More free tools, databases and websites can be found on the Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) Pathfinder. Many of these resources have patient-friendly information!

CAM-Cancer
Provides health professionals with high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) for cancer.
CAMEO
Complementary Medicine Education and Outcomes Research Program transforms the latest CAM research into user-friendly information that can be shared with patients and health professionals.
MedlinePlus Herbs & Supplements
Effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions of supplements and herbal remedies.
MSKCC Herbs, Botoanicals and Other Products
Objective and evidence-based information from the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center.
Natural Health Products Ingredients Database
Information about natural health products that have been issued a product licence by Health Canada.
NIH National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
Research and information about complementary health products and practices.
NIH Office of Cancer Complementary Alternative Medicine
OCCAM has a mission to improve the quality of care of cancer patients, as well as those at risk for cancer and those recovering from cancer treatment, by contributing to the advancement of evidence-based CAM practice and the sciences that support it as well as the availability of high-quality information for the health care community, researchers, and general public.
NIH Office of Dietary Supplements
Supplement information and fact sheets for health professionals and patients.
Recalls & Alerts Canada
Recalls and alerts on natural health products in Canada.