Print brain and central nervous system cancer pathfinder
E-books
Patients and the public of B.C. and Yukon can access these online books by calling 1.888.675.8001 x 7000 (toll-free) to get a username and password from the Library. See Brain Cancer E-books for more e-books about brain and central nervous system cancer.
Pamphlets
Brain Tumour Handbooks (Brain Tumour Foundation of Canada)Includes: Adult Brain Tumour Handbook; Pediatric Brain Tumour Handbook; Non-Malignant Brain Tumour Handbook; Caregiver Brain Tumour Handbook. Handbooks are available in both pdf form and as a hard copy, and are available free of charge within Canada.
Websites
These websites have been reviewed and approved by the BC Cancer librarians. See the "Looking for More?" tab above to find more recommended websites.
American Brain Tumor AssociationThis website has brain tumor information, statistics, a brain tumor dictionary, information about research, webinars and many online publications. Keep in mind that this is an American website so information in some sections may not be applicable to Canadian patients.
Brain Tumour Foundation of CanadaThis website has information about support services and care that is relevant for Canadian patients and their families. Free handbooks available upon request.
Support programs
This is a list of support programs offered by community organizations and BC Cancer. You can find more support programs offered at each BC Cancer centre and in the community on the BC Cancer website.
BC Cancer Patient & Family CounsellingAvailable to anyone in B.C. who has a cancer diagnosis, as well as those supporting them. Counselling available for individuals, couples, and families, either in-person or over the phone. Services are solution-focused and are limited to addressing challenges related to cancer.
BC Cancer Speech Language Pathology ServicesSpeech language pathologists work with patients and their families to improve or manage communication abilities such as word finding difficulties, unclear speech or comprehension challenges. Speech language pathologists also assist patients who are experiencing difficulties swallowing food or drink. Patients may be seen by BC Cancer speech language pathologists for this service, or referred to other specialized programs that are available.
Malignant Brain Tumour Support Group (BC Cancer)For people living with a malignant brain tumour and their caregivers. Held on the first Wednesday of each month (not statutory holidays) from 9:30 to 11:00 am. Call 604-877-6000 ext. 672194 to register your interest.
Brain Tumour Foundation of Canada Care and SupportOffer virtual support, support groups, one-on-one support and private Facebook support groups.
CancerConnection.caAn online community for cancer patients, caregivers, friends and family. A safe place to connect and find support. Regular webcasts are available on demand on a series of topics relevant to people with cancer including physical activity, relationships and complementary therapies.
Community services locator
The Canadian Cancer Society community services locator is a directory that helps cancer patients, survivors, family and caregivers find the services they need.
Resources found in these Pathfinders have been chosen and evaluated by BC Cancer librarians with input from other BC Cancer staff members. Suggestions for additional resources for inclusion are welcome; however, the Library reserves the final right to decide which websites and resources will be included. See our Inclusion/removal policy.
Resources are reviewed on a regular basis, however, the Library cannot guarantee the function, accuracy, or currency of the websites and the information contained within them.
The BC Cancer library system consists of a central library at Vancouver Centre (VC), and branches in Abbotsford (AC), Kelowna (SAHCSI), Prince George (CN), Surrey (FVC), and Victoria (VIC). All centres have patient resource collections in our Cancer Information Centres (CIC), and all centres have a professional collection on site. Professional resources for CN are housed in the adjacent UHNBC Library.
Navigating Glioblastoma and High-Grade Glioma by 
Navigating Life with a Brain Tumor by 
The BC Cancer library system consists of a central library at Vancouver Centre (VC), and branches in Abbotsford (AC), Kelowna (SAHCSI), Prince George (CN), Surrey (FVC), and Victoria (VIC). All centres have patient resource collections in our Cancer Information Centres (CIC), and all centres have a professional collection on site. Professional resources for CN are housed in the adjacent UHNBC Library.
