Important EBSCO database announcements:
The most frequently-used databases
The world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals. This database provides broad content coverage from over 1300 journals. Topics include: Nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health, and medicine.
A definitive resource for electronic information in the evidence based medicine (EBM) movement, this EBMR combines seven highly trusted resources into a single searchable database. Information about the separate databases is available on the Ovid website.
An international (and European focused) biomedical and pharmacological database that provides access to up-to-date information about medical, allied health, and drug-related subjects. Comprehensive inclusion of drug-related information makes EMBASE particularly valuable, with coverage of 8,400+ biomedical journals from 70 countries.
Over 450,000 citations and abstracts are added yearly, with a total of 28 million+ records in the database. Each record contains the full bibliographic citation, indexing terms and codes; more than 80% of records contain abstracts.
HBE provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.
Medline ALL is Ovid's most extensive Medline option. It is the major database for finding journal articles in the fields of medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, nursing, pre-clinical sciences and the health care system. It indexes nearly 6000 journals, going back as far as 1946, and uses an extensive controlled hierarchical thesaurus of Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to help connect related concepts.
Medline is the major database for finding journal articles in the fields of medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, nursing, pre-clinical sciences and the health care system. It indexes nearly 6000 journals, going back as far as 1946, and uses an extensive controlled hierarchical thesaurus of Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to help connect related concepts.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
EW includes AAMI, ASME, CSA, and other standards. Individual account creation is required for access. To create an account, please contact Gita Hamilton (Leader, Facilities Integration Management) at gita.hamilton@phsa.ca.
The BC Cancer library system consists of a central library at Vancouver Centre, and branches in Abbotsford, Kelowna, Prince George and Victoria where both patient and professional collections are available on site.