Print lymphedema pathfinder
E-books
Patients and the public of B.C. and Yukon can access these online books by calling 1.888.675.8001 x 7000 (toll-free) to get a username and password from the Library. See Lymphedema E-books for more e-books about lymphedema.
Websites
These websites have been reviewed and approved by the BC Cancer librarians. See the "Looking for More?" tab above to find more recommended websites.
BC Lymphedema AssociationThis association website provides information and offers support/advocacy to B.C. residents. The website includes a listing of B.C.-based therapists, fitters, supplies, support groups and exercise clinics. Individuals who join the association have access to a members-only section of the website and receive Pathways, the association newsletter.
Lymph NotesThis U.S.-based site provides lots of information about lymphedema and has a discussion forum.
Support programs
This is a list of support programs offered by community organizations and BC Cancer. You can find more support programs offered at each BC Cancer centre and in the community on the BC Cancer website.
BC Cancer Patient & Family CounsellingAvailable to anyone in B.C. who has a cancer diagnosis, as well as those supporting them. Counselling available for individuals, couples, and families, either in-person or over the phone. Services are solution-focused and are limited to addressing challenges related to cancer.
BC Cancer Speech Language Pathology ServicesSpeech language pathology services are provided to assist patients under the care of BC Cancer to maximize their communication and swallowing abilities. Assessment and treatment may be provided for swallowing, restricted jaw movement (trismus), swelling (lymphedema), speech, language, voice or cognitive disorders that arise as a result of cancer or cancer treatments.
BC Lymphedema AssociationThe website includes a listing of BC-based therapists, fitters, supplies, support groups and exercise clinics.
CancerConnection.caAn online community for cancer patients, caregivers, friends and family. A safe place to connect and find support. Regular webcasts are available on demand on a series of topics relevant to people with cancer including physical activity, relationships and complementary therapies.
Inspire HealthBook an appointment with an exercise specialist at inspirehealth.ca/programs/clinical-services/appointment or call 1-888-734-7125.
BC Lymphedema AssociationThis association website provides information and offers support/advocacy to B.C. residents. The website includes a listing of B.C.-based therapists, fitters, supplies, support groups and exercise clinics. Individuals who join the association have access to a members-only section of the website and receive Pathways, the association newsletter.
Dr. Vodder SchoolSearch for a Complex Physical Therapy (CPT) or Complex Decongestive Therapy (CDT) therapist.
Find a Physio (Physiotherapy Association of BC)Search your area for a physiotherapist with an Area of Practice in oncology or lymphedema.
Community services locator
The Canadian Cancer Society community services locator is a directory that helps cancer patients, survivors, family and caregivers find the services they need.
Resources found in these Pathfinders have been chosen and evaluated by BC Cancer librarians with input from other BC Cancer staff members. Suggestions for additional resources for inclusion are welcome; however, the Library reserves the final right to decide which websites and resources will be included. See our Inclusion/removal policy.
Resources are reviewed on a regular basis, however, the Library cannot guarantee the function, accuracy, or currency of the websites and the information contained within them.
The BC Cancer library system consists of a central library at Vancouver Centre (VC), and branches in Abbotsford (AC), Kelowna (SAHCSI), Prince George (CN), Surrey (FVC), and Victoria (VIC). All centres have patient resource collections in our Cancer Information Centres (CIC), and all centres have a professional collection on site. Professional resources for CN are housed in the adjacent UHNBC Library.
The Complete Lymphedema Management and Nutrition Guide by 
Restorative Yoga for Breast Cancer Recovery by 
The BC Cancer library system consists of a central library at Vancouver Centre (VC), and branches in Abbotsford (AC), Kelowna (SAHCSI), Prince George (CN), Surrey (FVC), and Victoria (VIC). All centres have patient resource collections in our Cancer Information Centres (CIC), and all centres have a professional collection on site. Professional resources for CN are housed in the adjacent UHNBC Library.
