Skip to Main Content
BC Cancer Library COVID-19 Update
Alert: All BC Cancer Library sites and Cancer Information Centres are closed to the public until further notice. We continue to support patients and staff, providing reference, research, document delivery and more from a virtual platform. The library is still monitoring our email and phones during our regular Monday-Friday hours of operation and can still help you.

Staff Guide

Google Scholar Full Text Links

Google Scholar is not the best method for searching medical research. However, if you already have the titles for a list of good journal articles, it can be a handy way to check for full text. 

Many BC Cancer computers will already show you links to our e-journals in Google Scholar search results.

If you do not see links in Google Scholar to FullText@BCCA or FindIt@BCCA, you can click the three line menu to add BC Cancer to your visible links. An account or log in is not needed.

Google Scholar Library Links settings

PubMed Full Text Links

Step-by-Step: Connect PubMed to the BC Cancer Library journals

New PubMed does not automatically find full text links from BC Cancer Library. Check if you are logged into a personal account at the top right:

Log in link on new pubmed page is top right

 

Log in or create a personal My NCBI account. Then go to the My NCBI Dashboard:

Go to the myNCBI dashboard from new PubMed

 

From the myNCBI Dashboard, choose Site Preferences:

Site Preferences is a small link, top right.

 

Look down the list of preferences and click Outside Tool to choose from the alphabetical list of institutions.

Find Outside Tool in myNCBI site preferences

 

You may only link to one institution in PubMed (for now). Click the letter B to find and select BC Cancer, then the Save button.

Return to PubMed (link is at the bottom of the page under "Popular"). The BC Cancer icon will now appear when viewing the abstract of any article. This setting will be saved for you on any computer, if you are logged into your account on PubMed.

When the BC Cancer icon is clicked, Full Text Finder will check for our journal subscriptions. If no results are found, you will be offered a form to request an interlibrary loan (requests@bccancer.bc.ca).  

Request What You Need

Having trouble finding the full text of something you need?

Request it through our Library's Document Delivery service (requests@bccancer.bc.ca). Books, book chapters and other documents can be brought in from other libraries. 



 The BC Cancer library system consists of one central library at Vancouver Centre (VC), and branches in Abbotsford (AC), Kelowna (SAHCSI), Prince George (CN), Surrey (FVC), and Victoria (VIC). All centres have a collection of patient resources in a Cancer Information Centre (CIC), and most centres have a professional collection on site. Professional resources purchased for the CN are housed in the adjacent UHNBC Library.