Home: Indigenous Cancer Care: Staff Education

Deepen your education by starting with the Indigenous History Month toolkit (available via the POD).

Click the image above to learn about the symbolism behind this illustration, or click the link below
Description of visual elements for National Indigenous History Month – text version.

Key Documents

Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples Act (DRIPA)
The provincial act in support of UNDRIP.
DRIPA Action Plan
BC's 2022-2027 action plan to implement DRIPA.
Indigenous Cultural Safety, Cultural Humility and Anti-Racism standard
Practice standards for all BCCNM registrants as of Feb 25, 2022.
Indigenous Health Primer (2019)
A primer by the Indigenous Health Committee of the Royal College on theoretical and medical content on Indigenous health in Canada.
Indigenous Health Values and Principles Statement, Second Edition (2019)
A document by Indigenous Health Committee of the Royal College on actionable principles to guide the delivery of culturally safe health care.
In Plain Sight: Addressing Indigenous-specific Racism and Discrimination in B.C. Health Care
Analyses of qualitative and quantitative data on anti-Indigenous racism in BC's healthcare system
National Centre for Truth & Reconciliation
The NCTR is a place of learning and dialogue where the truths of the residential school experience will be honoured and kept safe for future generations.
more...less...
The NCTR Archives and Collections is the foundation for ongoing learning and research. Here, Survivors, their families, educators, researchers, and the public can examine the residential school system more deeply with the goal of fostering reconciliation and healing.
National Inquiry into Missing & Murdered Indigenous Women & Girls
A report on the disproportionally high levels of violence against Indigenous women and girls in Canada.
United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP)
A declaration passed by the UN on the individual and collective rights of Indigenous peoples.

Courses, Podcases, Webinars, and Videos

Aboriginal Cultural Safety: How to be an Ally
Video on what Aboriginal cultural safety looks like in health care, and how health professionals can ensure the provision of culturally safe care to Aboriginal clients and their families.
Cultural Safety & Humility Action Series
Videos created by the BC Patient Safety & Quality Council on tools and skills for advancing cultural safety in healthcare.
Cultural Safety Education as the Blueprint for Reconciliation | Len Pierre | TEDxSFU
TedX Talk on Indigenous cultural safety education and training by Len Pierre, consultant.
iCON Indigenous
Indigenous health rounds, articles, and other resources to advance culturally safe care for Indigenous communities Indigenous.
Indigenous Canada
Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies at the University of Alberta. It is not specific to health, but it explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada.
Indigenous Cultural Safety Collaborative Learning Series
This ongoing series of webinars is hosted by PHSA Indigenous Health (www.sanyas.ca). The webinars are intended for people who wish to know more about Indigenous Cultural Safety and who may be working with Indigenous people in varying capacities across settings.
Indigenous Relationship and Cultural Safety Courses
These 13 courses from Cancer Care Ontario E-Learning will provide you with knowledge about the history and culture of First Nations, Inuit and Métis people and communities.
Putting Indigenous cultural safety into practice: "The first step is admitting we have a problem with racism."
A podcast episode by DocTalks: A Doctors of BC Podcast.
San'yas Indigenous Cultural Safety Training
This training program aims to improve cultural safety for Indigenous people accessing health services. It is delivered by the Provincial Health Services Authority of British Columbia.
Teachings in the Air (Podcast)
An Indigenous health and wellness podcast, hosted by Elder Gerry Oldman, which aims to inspire, motivate, and empower Indigenous people to be sound in mind, body and spirit.
The Truth of It
A video series about living with cancer in Canada. See topics: First Nations, Inuit and Métis, Palliative care, and Alternative and traditional medicine.

Language Apps and Websites

The Cree Medical App
The Cree Medical App is a free tool designed to improve the cultural safety of Cree patients, especially those undergoing cancer care. It is a glossary and translation dictionary intended to give a fun and educational experience to patients and their families, and to help healthcare workers and service providers communicate with their clients in Cree.
FirstVoices
FirstVoices is an online platform where communities can record and preserve their language, songs, and stories. Many of these recordings are publicly available and great for learning languages.
Government of Canada: Indigenous Languages
Glossaries, dictionaries and writing resources by the Government of Canada Translation Bureau on different Indigenous languages.
Indigenous Language Apps & Websites
List of apps and websites for learning Indigenous languages. The list is maintained by The Canadian Language Museum, Glendon College, Toronto.
Innu Medical Lexicon App (iOS only)
Glossary and audio pronunciation of Labrador Innu medical terms. Dialects include Mushuau and Sheshatshiu.
Kaggutiq Inuit Cancer Glossary
Pauktuutit partnered with various national and territorial organizations to develop this glossary of commonly used terms and procedures related to cancer.
Translated Medical Dictionaries: Ojicree, Ojibwe, and Cree
Language handbooks for healthcare providers published by the Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre.
more...less...
Ojicree Medical Dictionary: http://slmhc.on.ca/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/medical_dictionary_ojicree.pdf
Ojibwe Medical Dictionary: http://slmhc.on.ca/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/medical_dictionary_ojibwe.pdf
Cree Medical Dictionary: http://slmhc.on.ca/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/medical_dictionary_cree.pdf

Territories and Land Maps

Territory Acknowledgements
FNHA Information booklet on why and how to acknowledge Indigenous territories
Native Land
Territories, languages, and treaties across the world. This map does not represent or intend to represent official or legal boundaries of any Indigenous nations. To learn about definitive boundaries, contact the nations in question.
First Peoples' Maps of B.C.
First Nations territories and language map

Resources by Health Authority

Below are links to Indigenous-focused webpages for staff. They are listed by health authority.